Catching up in April

April 15, 2015 at 5:08 pm Leave a comment

Hi! OK… So, I’ve been busy but haven’t we all. It seems like as the years go by, it’s harder and harder to sit down to write on top of being in the kitchen. I have so many kitchen projects, that it’s just hard to leave that nice warm place.

IMG_0886wmIMG_0896 - wm

Anyway, every year we’ve been making gingerbread houses over the Xmas holidays. (I’ve posted some in the past.) At first we tried to have everything done before Christmas eve but as time has gone on, we’ve let things slide. It’s made it quite a bit more relaxed. I usually do final landscaping touches right before the gingerbread housebreaking part. This year I created the plans for my version of the San Diego mission. (We’ve done several missions over the last few years now.) I replaced the two large imposing walls that funnel people into the main church with a simple path (of cookie crumbs and chocolate rocks) and added a pond, as well. The innovation is the bell tower. It is 4 cookies placed together. In the middle, I added royal icing bars and hung little bells. The 3D effect was great; the little bells looked suspended inside those openings. I kept the side wall but didn’t do very much with it other than adding a set of doors. I made a fountain in the courtyard behind the church (because there is actually one there.)

IMG_0907wm IMG_0910wmIMG_0915wm

In 2014 we adoped a Berner pup. She’s sweet but sometimes a little obnoxious. I made a Berner cookie of her… Everyone from the extended family comes over to do decorating. It’s fun and messy. I’m including a picture of the space shuttle and little astronauts that was part of our new cookie cutters set this year.

IMG_1163

February is busy due to all sorts of birthdays and this year’s entrance of the Year of the Sheep (or Goat). Belated, Gung Hay Fat Choy (Happy New Year). I didn’t do as much this year for the breakfast: dan go (steamed egg cake from mom’s recipe) and mixed fruit with almond jello. We did have a family dinner with my sister’s family but we basically chose recipes that we’ve made in the past (and traditional dishes).

IMG_1015My youngest niece loves Nutella. So, we actually celebrate National (or is it International) Nutella Day. I usually make my own Nutella and this bread had Nutella in the middle and nutella across the top.

Mardis Gras also makes an appearance in February. I love making King’s cake. Here’s this year’s version. We also make a wide variety of sweet and savory pancakes (for Shrove Tuesday). This year I made gumbo and rice so that we had a little protein to go along with all the sweet.

IMG_1149

March was a special pi day. We had to use our pi plate that we received for Xmas. (Pie day is actually in January and, of course, we made pie then, too.) On 3-14-15 9:25:53 we cut the pie….and we had pizza pie for dinner.

IMG_1263wm

Note that my sister and her family live down the street. So, for the most part, we also have big celebratory dinners that go along with the big days – like Chinese New Year, St. Patrick’s Day, Easter, etc. Anyway, for breakfast on St. Patrick’s day, we had potato pancakes with thinly sliced smoked salmon. Yum!

IMG_1269wm

Phew. Needless to say, I was exhausted by the time spring break came but at least we’re all caught up a bit… Hope you all had as much fun eating from January to April as we did.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Taking courses….Food Science and beyond Butter Tarts in Canada

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


